Glen Sings For The King LP


Ships on: July 25, 2024

In 1965 Glen Campbell was part of the infamous “Wrecking Crew” recording sessions for the eras biggest pop songs. He signed to Capitol Records and is 3 years away from his breakthrough single “Gentle On My Mind”. By Night, Campbell is cutting demos for Ben Weisman, the legendary songwriter who wrote 57 songs, the most songs by one songwriter that were recorded by Elvis Presley. Glen had the uncanny knack to sing in the same key as Elvis. Between 1965-1967, Glen recorded numerous demos of Weisman songs to send to Elvis. Out of the 21 recordings that were recently recovered and restored from the nephew of Weisman's publisher, Stephen Auerbach, 12 Campbell demos were recorded and released by Presley. 19 of these demos, recorded with a full band have been restored and will be released together on a new collection, Sings For The King. The collection highlights Campbell's incredible vocal range and guitar skills. It also draws focus to Weisman's understanding of all the styles of music Elvis could perform.

The lost album from Glen Campbell, Sings for the King contains eighteen recently unearthed and restored studio recordings from 1965-1967 that casts new light on the influence that Campbell had on America’s greatest rock and roll star, Elvis Presley. Before his breakthrough single “Gentle On My Mind” Campbell was recording songs for legendary songwriter Ben Weisman, who wrote an unmatched 57 songs recorded by Elvis Presley. Campbell had an uncanny knack to sings in Elvis’s key and thirteen of these tracks went on to be recorded and released by Presley. The collection highlights Campbell’s incredible musicianship and contains “We Call on Him” a previously unreleased duet fused from the voices of Presley and Campbell.

Track List:

1. We Call On Him (Elvis Duet)(Side A)
2. Easy Come Easy Go (Side A)
3. Any Old Time (Side A)
4. Anyone Can Play (Side A)
5. I Got Love (Side A)
6. I'll Never Know (Side A)
7. All I Needed Was The Rain (Side A)
8. How Can I Lose What You Never Had (Side A)
9. Spin Out (Side A)
10. Magic Fire (Side B)
11. I'll Be Back (Side B)
12. Love On The Rocks (Side B)
13. Stay Away Joe (Side B)
14. Cross My Heart (Side B)
15. Clambake (Side B)
16. There Is So Much World (Side B)
17. Do The Clam (Side B)
18. Restless (Side B)